Working hours: 0900 hrs – 1700 hrs MUT
Handing over of the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman...
Home › Announcements › Handing over of the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman...

High Commission of India

Port Louis


Press Release

Handing over of the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award

to Hon’ble Pravind Kuman Jugnauth, Prime Minister of the Republic of Mauritius

on 2 April 2017

The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award, conferred by the President of the Republic of India on Hon’ble Pravind Kuman Jugnauth in January 2017 in Bengaluru, was handed over to him by the High Commissioner of India Shri Abhay Thakur at a Reception on 2 April 2017 at India House. In addition to Hon. Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Prime Minister of the Republic of Mauritius accompanied by his spouse, the Reception was attended by Hon. Paramasivum Pillay Vyapoory, Vice President of the Republic of Mauritius, Hon. Ivan Collendavelloo, Deputy prime Minister, The Rt. Hon’ble Sir Aneerood Jugnauth, Minister Mentor, Hon. Showkutally Soodhun, Vice Prime Minister, Hon. Nandcoomar Bodha, Minister of Public Infrastructure and Land Transport, Hon. Leela Devi Dookun-Luchoomun, Minister of Education and Human Resources, Hon Prithvirajsing Roopun, Minister of Arts and Culture and Hon. Ashit Kumar Gungah, Minister of Industry and Commerce.

Recalling the exemplary relationship between India and Mauritius, as well as the supportive role played by the Indian diaspora in India’s socio-economic development, High Commissioner expressed the hope that India-Mauritius cooperation will continue to strengthen even further in the years ahead. The Rt. Hon. Sir Anerood Jugnauth was the first recipient of the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award from Mauritius in 2003, and Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth is its sixth recipient. Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth thanked the Government of India for the Award, and said that he is committed to working for a further consolidation of the unique relationship between India and Mauritius.

On the occasion, High Commissioner also handed over Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) cards to Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Vice President Paramasivum Pillay Vyapoory, Minister Mentor Sir Anerood Jugnauth, Minister of Art and Culture Prithvirajsing Roopun and Minister of Commerce Ashit Kumar Gungah. In January 2017, Government of India had announced a special carve-out for Mauritius in its OCI card scheme, whereby all Mauritians of Indian origin are eligible for OCI cards on the basis of sufficient documentary evidence of such origin, without restriction on the number of generations.


3 April 2017

Port Louis


Address: High Commission of India, 6th Floor, L.I.C. Building, Pres. John Kennedy Street, P.O. Box 162, Port Louis, Mauritius.

Working hours: 0930 hours to 1700 hours (Monday to Friday)
Telephone Numbers: (230) 208 3775/76, 208 0031, 211 1400.

Fax Number: (230)208 8891

Copyright policy | Terms & Condition | Privacy Policy |
Hyperlinking Policy | Accessibility Option | Help

© High Commission of Port Louis, Mauritius 2019. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by: Ardhas Technology India Private Limited.